Beloved Enemy Chapter 77

After GuQingPei took a taxi to the airport, YuanYang went upstairs.

All of his important things have been moved to GuQingPei’s house. Looking around the room for a long time, he finally found his passport.

He took his passport and wallet and then headed toward the same airport as GuQingPei.

On the road, he called a friend to help him check on GuQingPei’s flight. Sure enough, GuQingPei was really going to Saipan. So he went to the airport and bought a ticket for the same destination. It was just three hours after GuQingPei’s departure time.

But, he didn’t expect to have problems checking in.

The lady at the counter said that his passport is under restricted status, unable to leave the country.

YuanYang repeatedly confirmed with her several times but the result is still the same. Enraged, he called several friends and comrades whom he had connection to with Immigration. After a long time of researching, he found out that his passport is in the category governed by senior officers. In this regard, the country had strict regulations. Without the approval documents from his superior, it would be impossible for him to leave the country. As for whom this superior is? He had no clue.

YuanYang kept thinking about it and felt that only his dad would come up with something like this, just that he knew nothing about it.

What he didn’t know was that his dad had initially pressured GuQingPei to leave the country. All of this was already planned beforehand. He merely thought that his dad was spying on him, even knowing that he needed to leave the country.

He couldn’t help but look back and felt that everyone in the airport looked suspicious and hateful. They could have been sent by his dad to spy on him.

He resentfully ripped the ticket apart.

He looked on helplessly as GuQingPei got on the plane by himself to go on the little island that they had planned on vacationing together. It wasn’t until he got to the airport that he realized he can’t even leave the country. YuanYang was so furious that his head was about to explode.

GuQingPei had no idea that YuanYang had followed him. After passing through security check, he waited quietly for the plane in the waiting hall.

He had turned off his cell phone yesterday after sending his parent’s a text message informing them that he would be on a business trip. Without thinking too much, he also knew that this “entertaining hot news” involving himself would spread fast and wide in this familiar social circle. Maybe his former golfers would also be chatting about his photos when they are playing golf, just like they had chatted about the excitement of certain high-ranking officer and his mistress. At this time, it is obvious that something such as a cell phone that allows him to connect with his contacts should not exist.

He intended to stay in Saipan for a period of time to avoid the limelight. This time, he has to take at least a month long vacation and have a very good rest. His body and his heart really needed a good rest.

What his eyes can’t see, his heart does not grieve. He could at least escape from it for a short time. Perhaps, after a while, he may be numbed enough and return to face it.

He still must face it.

From the land of freezing temperatures with ice and snow in Beijing to the beautiful island with warmth and fragrant flowers, GuQingPei’s heart felt relieved from the warming sunshine.

Everywhere are unfamiliar faces. He doesn’t know anyone here. This feels great.

He stayed in the hotel for three consecutive days, not going anywhere, sleeping till he naturally awakens. He’d get up to eat his breakfast, take a walk on the beach, get a sun tan, then return to the room and watch a movie on the laptop or read while listening to music.

Life could have been so pleasant. He almost forgot that he still had the ability to enjoy such a lazy time. He had always been a very busy person. In any year…365 days, there was a time in a month where he was on the plane for 27 times. If he had any free time, he would panic even more than if his work was backlogged.

By nature, he’s probably a person who can’t lay idle, always needing to be busy. Which is why after he became an executive at the state-owned enterprise, he disliked that it was too ordinary so he quit to go work for YuanLiJiang’s company. If it wasn’t for his hard work, there would not have been the matter with YuanYang in the end.

Thinking of this, it is so ironic.

GuQingPei decided to go to sleep. Then, he won’t have to think about anything else.

After taking a shower, there was a knock on the door.

He used English to ask who was at the door, the other party responded with “room service.” The voice was deep and sincere. It sounded really nice.

GuQingPei thought that someone was coming to clean the room. He intended to tip the other party a little and ask them to return two hours later. Unexpectedly, when he opened the door, his nose nearly collided into a big bouquet of red roses.

GuQingPei was stunned. Holding a bouquet of roses, behind is a face of a mature handsome man, with his smile brimming like the spring breeze.

“Chairman Wang?”

Dressed in a slightly funny flower shirt and mismatched suit pants, this person looked as if he didn’t have time to change, holding a large bouquet of roses standing in front of him smiling. It is WangJin.

WangJin blinked, “What did you call me?”

“Wang… Wang Ge, why are you here?”

“I’ve called and emailed you many times over the past few days but still can’t get in contact with you. I’ve no choice, but to ….. come find you personally.”

GuQingPei had not recovered from his senses, furrowing his brows, “Why did you come here?”

WangJin smiled, “If I tell you, will you forgive me?” As he said this, his eyes concentrated on GuQingPei’s bare ivory chest.

“Forget it. It’s not important.” GuQingPei turned his head and walked back into the room. He had just come out of the bathroom, wrapped only in a bath towel. Turning his body, his back facing WangJin as he put on a bathrobe, it was only after he had worn the bathrobe that he dropped the bath towel. Although no bodily parts were exposed, WangJin’s eyes glimmered seeing him bend down with his long legs and his ass tilted. He was already satisfied.

WangJin came in with his bouquet of roses, “I just got into your email and saw your hotel reservation.” He put the flowers down, his voice less laughable, instead becoming more serious “QingPei, I’m just worried about you. I’m so worried that I can’t even work or do anything else. If I still can’t see you, I’ll also go missing.”

GuQingPei poured a glass of water for WangJin and said lightly, “Wang Ge, I haven’t disappeared. I just went on vacation. I didn’t need to tell everyone.”

WangJin smiled, “Nobody could get in contact with you after the incident occurred. How can I not overthink?” As he said this, he carefully observed GuQingPei’s expression.

GuQingPei did not have any expression, instead he smiled, “I’m fine. Wang Ge. How can I, GuQingPei, crumble over these few photos? This happening, indeed, is a bit shameful. I’m just going to rest a few days and avoid the limelight. After a while, I’ll return. Thanks to Wang Ge, for your concern.”

WangJin wrinkled his brows and softly uttered, “QingPei, you still consider me an outsider, still so polite and distant when you talk to me. When can you treat me like a friend and tell me what’s really on your mind?”

GuQingPei’s heart trembled. He lowered his head to take a sip of water but did not respond.

“I’ve always thought that we have a lot in common, so I admit that I understand you.”

GuQingPei smiled, “Wang Ge, our commonality, apart from being male, there are really not many.” If it was WangJin, anyone in Beijing city who dared to deal with the Wang family in such a way, they would have had to be prepared to suffer great losses. He doesn’t know how WangJin could understand him. The two of them were never on the same level.

WangJin sighed, “QingPei, why do you always reject me? As of now, you and YuanYang are at a dead end. The side of this fork road can lead to me; you’re not willing to give it a try?”

He said it with such extreme sincerity that even GuQingPei had no way to evade. Glancing at WangJin, feeling a bit awkward and embarrassed, “WangGe, I’m really not in that state of mind right now to be thinking of such things.”

WangJin smiled softly, “I understand. This time I came only to keep you company. My room is next to yours. I’ll stay as long as you want to stay.” After saying that, he winked “It’s best if you invite me to stay here (in GuQingPei’s room) to save me some travel expenses.”

GuQingPei faintly smiled. Having dealt with all kinds of flirting and teasing, he could skillfully and easily handle it. His reaction was entirely dependent on whether he wanted to respond.

WangJin picked up the towel on the chair and gently wiped GuQingPei’s hair, “Dry your hair, the air conditioner in the room is so cold. Be careful or you might catch a cold.”

GuQingPei grabbed WangJin’s wrist.

WangJin paused, looking at him calmly.

GuQingPei quietly said, “Wang Ge, I’m also not playing chastity either. But I’m the kind of person who is a bit principled. Even though it is over between YuanYang and I, I can’t just turn around and be with you. I’m not afraid to be a fool in front of you, but I was just pretending earlier. I’m really in a bad situation right now. The GuQingPei in front of you right now may not be the one you want to see. I don’t want to add to your problems nor disappoint your kindness and offend you. I don’t want the person who cares about me to be uncomfortable. So WangGe, I beg you. Just go back and leave me alone.”

WangJin exposed a very elegant smile. He stretched out his long arms to encircle GuQingPei’s shoulders, almost taking GuQingPei into his arms. Patting GuQingPei’s back, saying softly, “QingPei, I like all your different sides. It makes me feel that I’m in touch with the real you instead of the pretentious “Director Gu.” If you have resentments in your heart, don’t hesitate to vent it out. I’m willing to share your worries with you. I’m not going back and I also don’t want to take advantage of someone’s vulnerable state. The reason I’ve dropped everything to come here is just so I can be with the person that I like in his time distress and sadness.”

GuQingPei opened his mouth but didn’t say anything. He sighed and closed his eyes.

End of the Chapter

 

 

11 thoughts on “Beloved Enemy Chapter 77

  1. Some of my favourite points for WJ just dropped haha his execution is smooth but way too obvious to be sincere. If he had dropped those roses or kept his eyes on eye level, I wouldn’t have those thoughts

    Like

  2. WJ is opportunistic and insensitive. he’s a pain in the ass. everything he did is uncalled for and so reading this chapter makes my blood boil. i want to should a few curses here and there.

    Like

Leave a comment