Beloved Enemy Chapter 73

In between, GuQingPei’s parents continued to ask YuanYang about his background, his age, where he’s from, how many people are in his family, what kind of job he has, and so on. This can’t be said as leaving nothing overturned (meaning finding out everything about YuanYang). However it is referring to the criteria of a girl that their son had brought home. Things that they should asked, they’d asked.

GuQingPei wanted to stop them right from the beginning. But he soon came to realize that he couldn’t even put a word in, so he simply didn’t say anything at all. Instead, he just ate silently while observing YuanYang as he chatted along with his parents.

It was as if they are a family.

GuQingPei looked at this scene with sadness.

After the meal, GuQingPei took the opportunity of his parents clearing the table to finally get a private moment with YuanYang. Lowering his eyes, he lightly whispered, “Let’s go out for a walk.”

YuanYang sat in front of the table, lifting his head to look at him, his eyes tinged with grievances, “If I go out, will you let me through this door again?”

“This is my parent’s home, you shouldn’t have come anyway.”

“On what basis should I not come? Did ZhaoYuan come here before? How come she could come, but I can’t?”

GuQingPei sighed, “Get up, let’s talk outside.”

The green veins on YuanYang’s forehead flared up. It was as if he was trying to use all his energy to suppress a kind emotion that is on the verge of exploding. He stood up stiffly.

Mother Gu had just came out of the kitchen with a plate of fruits, “What’s wrong? You need to go?”

YuanYang did not speak. GuQingPei responded, “Mom, we have something to talk about. I’ll be back later.”

“How can you leave right after eating, sit for a bit.” Mother Gu reluctantly put down the fruit plate and looked at YuanYang again and again, “I still have things I haven’t said.”

GuQingPei’s face showed no expression but his tone is a bit unyielding, “Mom, another day.”

Mother Gu lowered her head in disappointment, “Wear the sweater I knitted for you.”

GuQingPei put on his sweater and a jacket, then led YuanYang out the door.

He had originally wanted to take YuanYang for a walk downstairs, but the weather was warm today and it was not too late out so there were many people downstairs. It would not have been an appropriate place to talk. He was afraid that YuanYang would flip out and turn violent.

So he simply took YuanYang to the rooftop of their building.

Up above, the cold wind wheezes by with only the moon providing a thin ray of light, but there was not a soul in sight.

GuQingPei wrapped his armed tightly around his jacket; his eyes empty, looking at the lights in the far distance, “I really didn’t think you would come to my house.”

“You left this (note) and ran away. Do you think that I’ll be waiting for you to return to Beijing?” YuanYang tossed the scrunched up note onto GuQingPei, his breath unsteady.

“YuanYang, what I wrote is what I wanted to say. We are really not right for each other; our personalities, experiences, ideologies are completely opposite. You are still young. One day you will come to realize that relying on just a moment’s passion will not last.”

YuanYang instantly gripped onto his collar, “I don’t want to hear you say all this shit. I, YuanYang, have never set my heart on anyone in my life. I have my eyes set on you. You’re not allowed to give up at this time. I’ve already sold my house. A real estate project that my friend and I worked on in Tianjin had already raised funds and would start next month. I will work hard. You say that I am immature, I will change. I will fucking change, but you……” YuanYang clenched his chin, his fierce expression tinged with panic, “You can’t break up with me. Don’t keep telling me this shit about us not being right for each other. When you were climaxing under me, why didn’t you say a word about not being right for each other, huh? You obviously like me. Why don’t you fucking dare admit it? Even your parents have accepted me, why can’t you?! Why can’t you!?”

GuQingPei’s expression is livid as he gritted his teeth, “Why? My parents are honest and simple people. They’ve been honorable and genuine their entire lives. What they are most afraid of are people stabbing them in their backs. For them to accept that their son is gay, do you know how hard that is? Although they have no choice but to accept this reality, it doesn’t mean that they can calmly look into the eyes of families and friends. If I’m with you, will your parents let me go? Will my parents get peace? I don’t plan to stay in Beijing anymore because that place is no longer fitting for me. I have struggled in this place for 15 years, but now I have to let it all go. Do you know how I feel? But that’s all fine. I can find a job at home that is enough to support my parents… but I can only tolerate so much.” GuQingPei’s voice quavered, “YuanYang, you have lived too superiorly so you can’t see peoples’ hardships. You think that the things that I can’t let go are too mundane but that is only because you can get it easily without putting in any efforts. I am not the same as you. YuanYang, we are too different. We should have ended this long ago. It should be said that from the beginning this relationship should not have been continued on. Let’s just end it here. Then we can be at ease.”

“What fucking bullshit!!” YuanYang shouted with his eyes bloodshot, “At ease? After trampling on me, you can be at ease? GuQingPei, you’re really fucking cruel. We have been together for this long, does it not mean anything to you? How am I not good to you, that you dare to say that you don’t want me so easily?” YuanYang harshly gripped onto GuQingPei’s shoulder, his eyes full of rage and sadness, his face twisted as if he can’t wait to kill GuQingPei with his bite.

GuQingPei lowered his head, like a lost soul, repeating his words, “We are really not right for each, really not suitable.” A young impulsive boy that is 11 years younger than him, who is overbearingly conceited, one who persists on doing things his own ways and recklessly acts as he pleases. Basically, YuanYang have nothing in common with him. Looking at it this way, this is not a good harmonious union. He should have known this long ago. But still, he blindly indulged in this intensive passionate pleasure with YuanYang, unable to extricate himself. With regards to YuanYang, he had made numerous wrong decisions. His biggest mistake is that he shouldn’t have fallen for such an unrealistic partner.

Now that reality has forced him to wake up. It’s time to make a wise decision. What he lost now is his years of accumulation in Beijing. If he continued to entangle with YuanYang, he didn’t know what else he would lose.

He is GuQingPei. How could he act so impulsively on such impractical feelings?

This is not him at all.

YuanYang only felt that his heart had been splashed by a bucket of ice cold water. He had never experienced such defeat in his life. Almost all the grievances, sadness, and shame that he had experienced stemmed from GuQingPei. Only this man could make him feel so agitated. He’s already at this age, yet has only fallen for this person. He couldn’t imagine GuQingPei leaving him and be with someone else. He had already asserted GuQingPei to be his.

YuanYang felt extreme furor and pained. Yet, he can’t do anything to GuQingPei. His fingers that were clinching on GuQingPei’s chin unconsciously tightened. Seeing GuQingPei’s face paled from the pain but still didn’t say a word, his heart had a warped sense of thrill.

He looked at GuQingPei fiercely, his voice hoarse, “If you don’t go back to Beijing, I will stay here with you. I’m that fucking cheap. I like you. I will definitely not break up with you!”

GuQingPei stared at him. Under YuanYang’s frank and persistent gaze, he felt at loss.

YuanYang has always lived more real and more selfishly as compared to him. This is not something he could even do when he was ten years old.

But now…

YuanYang released his chin and reached his arms out to pull him into a tight hug, whispering, “I missed you, just one day of not seeing you, I will miss you. Tell me, what should I do? You dare leave this note and left. When I went to your parent’s home and saw you, I wanted to kill you…. GuQingPei, don’t you think that I’m abnormal? I am fucking like this. I’ve warned you before to not provoke me. Now it’s all too late. It is too late for the both of us. I can’t be separated from you. I get a headache just seeing you with WangJin, not to mention you being with someone else. You are mine, YuanYang’s person and have been starting from that day. I will work hard, work really hard to make money. I will eliminate all your apprehensions. All my shortcomings that you can’t stand, I will change. Who the fuck tells me to like you? Don’t talk to me about breaking up anymore or that we are not right for each other. If you dare to continue mentioning this, I can’t guarantee that I can stay calm.”

GuQingPei closed his eyes and sighed, “YuanYang, don’t pressure me.”

“If I don’t, you’ll run away and leave so don’t even think about going anywhere.”

GuQingPei looked at the flames pulsing in his eyes. He could no longer say any words of rejection. He understands YuanYang’s temper and also knew that he couldn’t go against YuanYang. Otherwise, when this person becomes unreasonable, the one to suffer is certainly himself. If he really said those words, he didn’t know what YuanYang would be capable of doing.

He really don’t know what to do. No matter how much he retreats, YuanYang will take a bigger step, following him closely.

Maybe what YuanLiJiang said was right, that only by leaving the country and be completely isolated from YuanYang could they really break up. But he can’t leave the country. How could he leave his elderly parents to go abroad? He could only see them several times a year as it currently is. To not come back for two years is unrealistic.

He was caught in between two unprecedented dilemmas. YuanYang is pressuring him; YuanLiJiang is also pressuring him. He can’t break up with YuanYang but there is no way that they could live on in peace. He doesn’t know if there is any other kind of torture that is more painful than this.

YuanYang’s cell phone suddenly rang. When he pulled out his phone to look, his expression turned gloomy.

GuQingPei glanced at him and saw that it was from YuanLiJiang. He took the opportunity to push YuanYang away, turning to go downstairs.

However, YuanYang grabbed his wrist and twisted his arm behind his back, then pushed him forward, forcing GuQingPei’s chest to be tightly affixed to his chest. With YuanYang’s powerful strength, a fully grown man like GuQingPei is who 1.8m (5’9”) tall, couldn’t budge even after struggling a bit.

YuanYang’s one hand controlled GuQingPei and his other hand answered the phone, “Dad.”

“Where did you go?”

With the two people’s bodies sticking so close together, GuQingPei could clearly hear the voice coming from the phone.

“Where I went, you should know clearly, why bother to ask?”

YuanLiJiang coldly retorted, “You went to find GuQingPei.”

“Right, I’m at his house and met his parents.”

“You met his parents?” YuanLiJiang took a few breadths, his voice husky, “They didn’t kick you out?”

YuanYang responded mildly, “Dad, his parents are much more open-minded than you.”

“Of course, because their surname is not ‘Yuan’!” YuanLiJiang added coldly, “Come back to Beijing immediately. GuQingPei’s attitude is already clear. Why are you still insisting on tangling with this? Don’t you feel shameful?”

GuQingPei desperately wanted push YuanYang away but he didn’t dare to make a move. The two secretly exchanged looks. Flushed with anger, the scene is a bit funny but no one could laugh.

“Dad, I’m not afraid of being shamed,” YuanYang said looking at GuQingPei, then added satirically, “I don’t live to have face.”

“Even if you don’t feel ashamed, I feel ashamed. YuanYang, have you gone crazy? GuQingPei is a man 11 years older than you. What did he do to make you so mesmerized with him?”

“I don’t know. Dad, why did you give me to him back then?”

YuanLiJiang ranted, “It was so you can learn management and business from him. Not for you to be involved in a homosexual relationship with him.”

YuanYang smiled wryly, “It’s too late, dad. If he doesn’t plan to return to Beijing, I will stay here. I’ve never intended to be separated from him, no matter how much you oppose it.”

YuanLiJiang was silent. Then he finally says coldly, “Don’t regret it.” After that, he calmly hung up.

YuanYang looked at GuQingPei while holding the phone, revealing a mocking smile, “My dad shouldn’t want me anymore. If you also don’t want me, where am I going to go?”

GuQingPei’s heart trembled. YuanYang’s persistence had made it impossible for him to evade. From the time he was young, many people have praised him, but no one had ever been like YuanYang, giving him such immense shock. YuanYang is like the most ferocious, yet also the most pure and simplest beast. At first sight, he bared his teeth. But now, he only showed him his soft flesh… without any reservations, using this side of him that is most truthful toward him; daring to love and hate. GuQingPei looked at YuanYang’s tightly furrowed eyebrows; his heart couldn’t suppress the pain from swelling.

He didn’t want to see this expression on YuanYang.

GuQingPei turned his head, in a hoarse voice, “There is nothing to gain from doing this. Let me go first.”

YuanYang lowered his head and viciously bit his neck, “Gain? You will use benefits to measure everything? Fine, then I’m telling you, the only thing I want is you. Having you is the greatest benefit.”

GuQingPei’s voice trembled, “You silly boy… What am I going to do with you? You really…”

YuanYang pulled GuQingPei tightly into his embrace, with his deep eyes staring into the distance and his expression extremely determined, “You’ve heard. I have no way out and you also don’t, so you can’t tell me we’re breaking up. I’ll take you to Tianjin tomorrow. We can check out the project. China is so big, we can do business anywhere. It doesn’t have to be in Beijing. We can open our own company. I can be your assistant, driver, or whatever, just as long as I can be with you every day is all that matters. I don’t believe that we will starve to death.”

GuQingPei sighed, “Do you think it’s that easy to do business? Do you think that as long as you put in all your efforts, you’ll be able to make money?”

“That’s why I am taking you to check out the project. Don’t you have a lot of things to teach me? I want to learn it all. I will make a lot of money for you so that you can live in endless splendor anywhere you go.” YuanYang kissed his neck, “I’ll be even more powerful than that WangJin. So at that time, the only person you can see is me.”

GuQingPei exposed a crying-laughing like expression, his heart in endless agony, “Can you let go of your hand? My arm is almost broken.”

YuanYang let go of his hand. He looked at GuQingPei, his eyes slightly lowered, “I’m going to sleep at your (parent’s) house tonight.”

“Stop causing trouble.”

“I’m going to go. Your parents like me. I can tell.”

“They just want me to quickly find someone to settle down. Where do you see that they like you?”

“Feeling.” YuanYang grabbed onto his arm, not letting go, “All you have to do is take me down to see. It’s not like there is no space in your house. I see a lot of rooms.”

GuQingPei didn’t want his parents and YuanYang to have too much contact. He’s afraid that such a pleasant family atmosphere would make him lose his judgment.

YuanYang’s was reluctant to leave, instead, he insisted on following GuQingPei home.

Since GuQingPei can’t shoo him away, he had no choice but to take YuanYang home with him.

Mother Gu was very surprised and simply asked, “You guys reconciled?”

GuQingPei was a bit embarrassed, “Mom, it’s too late to find a hotel. Tidy up the guest room a bit. YuanYang will stay here for the night.”

“Ahh, okay.”

Father Gu narrowed his eyes, smiling as he ask YuanYang, “Xiao Yuan, do you know how to play chess? Go chess?”

“I do.”

“Come, play a few games with me. I’ve been playing with GuQingPei these two days. I can’t beat him.” He rubbed his hands in anticipation, looking high-spirited.

GuQingPei moved to sit next to the two of them and quietly watched the two men play chess.

Mother Gu brought ginger tea and put it on the coffee table beside them. With her hand on GuQingPei’s shoulder, gently combing through his hair and watching the two people play chess, throwing in a few words from time to time.

As GuQingPei quietly observed YuanYang’s fully concentrated side profile, then looking at his father and his mother’s peaceful smile, warm currents flowed into his heart.

At that moment, GuQingPei again clearly realized that this was what he wanted.

End of the Chapter

3 thoughts on “Beloved Enemy Chapter 73

  1. I’m very afraid of the next chapter and those to come. From what I’ve read until now, this story is superb in rising the spirits and then drops you without warning, letting you experience a thrilling dive into the ground just to pick you up a few inches before you actually hit the concrete xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment